Tuesday, February 26, 2008

Georgia DOT Wants Your Best Photos of our State!

Georgia DOT invites you to send us your pictures depicting Georgia’s transportation system, scenic beauty, attractions or historical sites. State Transportation Board members will select a winning entry to represent their respective congressional district on the Official 2009 Highway and Transportation map. The highway map photo contest is open to all Georgia residents.

Photos can be submitted online at http://statemapphoto.dot.state.ga.us until April 30, 2008.
Once the submission period closes, Board members will select one photo to represent their congressional district. The winning photographers will be notified in writing and receive full photo credit for their submission.

The State Highway and Transportation Map is Georgia’s official travel guide. Over a million maps are printed each year and distributed throughout the country. Photos from all over Georgia have been placed on previous maps to provide travelers with a visual depiction of our history, statewide attractions and nationally recognized transportation system.

Good luck!

Wednesday, February 13, 2008

Shutterbugs Attend Reception in Zebulon

Shutterbugs in attendance at A Novel Experience's Puppy Love reception: Brenda Fayard, Malgorzata Florkowska, Fawne DeRosia, Ellen Tew, Harolyn Castleberry, Marcia Fisher, Melba Brown, and Johnnie Ann Gaskill. (Photo by Gordon Brown)

Photo by Johnnie Ann Gaskill.

Wednesday, February 6, 2008

Shutterbugs’ Awards and Feb. 12 Meeting

Seven members of the West Central Georgia Shutterbugs received ribbons and cash awards for photos they entered into the 2007 Georgia National Fair, held in Perry, GA. Their awards are significant since, according to Alan Thiese, Chairman of the Photography Competition, there were 1605 photos entered, 970 of those photos in the Beginner Division, 396 in Advanced, and 239 in Open.
Shutterbugs receiving awards in the Beginner Division were: Linda Best—6th place, Melba Brown—two 6th place awards, Harolyn Castleberry—a 2nd and a 3rd place, Anna Mary Ellerbee—a 3rd and a 5th place, Marcia Fisher—two 2nd place awards, plus a 3rd and a 6th, and Ester Fry—4th place.
In the “Advanced” division, Johnnie Ann Gaskill won sixteen awards, including three 1st place awards. She also received the Sweepstakes Award, which is awarded annually to the photographer who earns more awards than any other photographer competing in that division.
Several Shutterbugs have received recognitions for photos they’ve posted on http://www.betterphoto.com/, the premier educational web site on photography that offers an astonishing array of resources for photographers world-wide who want to improve their skills, share their photos, and learn more about the art and technique of photography. Photographers may enter one photo per day to any one of the ten contests BetterPhoto sponsors each month. Out of the thousands of beautiful photos entered each month, some photos are designated as “Editor’s Pick,” which means they have advanced to the next level of competition from which the “Finalists” are chosen, from which “Winners” are selected. According to recent statistics posted on http://www.betterphoto.com/, 7,120 photographers from 225 countries have received awards. Out of the more than 30,000 photos submitted each month, BetterPhoto chooses only a small percentage of photos for special recognition, which makes receiving even an “Editor’s Pick” a real thrill.
Shutterbugs whose photos have been designated “Editor’s Pick” include: Melba Brown, Harolyn Castleberry, Hazel Cromer, Dee DeLoatch, Anna Mary Ellerbee, Johnnie Ann Gaskill, and Lyndsey York. Anna Mary and Melba have also received one “Finalist” award each. Hazel has received numerous “Editor’s Picks,” two “Finalists,” and one “Winner.” Congratulations to all!
Five Shutterbugs have had photos chosen for the “Puppy Love” exhibit on display during February at A Novel Experience (bookstore) on the courthouse square in Zebulon. The public is invited to a reception there on Saturday, Feb. 9, from 7-9 p.m. to view the photos of dogs and to meet all of the photographers, including Shutterbugs Melba Brown, Harolyn Castleberry, Fawne DeRosia, Brenda Fayard, and Malgorzata Florkowska.

The West Central Georgia Shutterbugs will meet on Tuesday, February 12, 2008, at 6:30 p.m. at the Thomaston-Upson Arts Council (TUAC) Gallery, located on the courthouse square in Thomaston. The program will feature a PowerPoint presentation of photos taken by Melba Brown, Harolyn Castleberry, and Linda Best during their recent trip to Italy. The group was organized in November 2005 and met for the first time in January 2006. Currently, there are 25 members, including the award-winning photographers shown here (front row, left to right): Melba Brown, Ellen Tew, Harolyn Castleberry, Malgorzata Florkowska, Johnnie Ann Gaskill, Linda Best, Fawne DeRosia, and (back row, L-R) Marcia Fisher, Anna Mary Ellerbee, Lyndsey York, and Hazel Cromer. They, along with other Shutterbugs, invite anyone interested in photography and/or in viewing the photos of Italy to attend the meeting. Photo by King Davis.

Written by Johnnie Ann Gaskill.

Tuesday, February 5, 2008

Puppy Love at A Novel Experience

Nancy McCrary has curated a fabulous show of lovely dog photos from over 20 photographers--the images are funny, inspiring, and poignant. For anyone who has ever loved a dog, this show will elicit wonderful memories and appreciation of that special relationship between the species. The subjects span the dog world --from serious working guys to pampered pooches of the clueless ilk. Doubt the Great Pyrennees can express complex emotions? Come let us make a believer of you!
Part of the fun of this exhibit will be sharing it with a great group of photographers and dog lovers at the Opening Reception on Saturday February 9th from 7-9 p.m. Contribute to the "Ahhhhh Factor" and enjoy complementary wine, cheese, and convivial conversation!RECEPTION: SATURDAY, FEBRUARY 9. 7-9 PM
Some of our own Shutterbugs will have photos hanging in this exhibit: Melba Brown, Harolyn Castleberry, Malgorzata Florkowska, Fawne DeRosia, and Brenda Fayard. Congratulations!